Shatkarma – The Six Purification Methods in Hatha Yoga

The Shatkarmas are the six purification techniques mentioned in Hatha Yoga Pradeepika. Shatkarma  makes the body clean, strong, free of diseases. It removes toxins and improves concentration. It improves the flow of prana into the organs.

The six techniques are – Dhauti, Bhasti, Neti, Trataka, Nauli and Kapalabhati. Some of the techniques have more than one variation. Shatkarma techniques should be learned from an experienced yoga master.

Given below the different Shatkarma Methods. Click on the image to get the detailed text.

Jala Neti
Sutra Neti
Madhya Nauli
Vama Nauli
Dakshina Nauli
Vaman Dhauti Also called Kunjal Kriya
Vastra Dhauti
BastiYogic Enema Technique
KapalabhatiThe Skull Shining Breath
Translate »